Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Select a Map from the dropdown:
Select an eService from the dropdown:
Search for eService within GECDSB...
Select a language from the dropdown to translate this page:
Search for eService within GECDSB...
You Are Here:

About Us

Board Logo 150 dpi (low res).jpgThe Greater Essex County District School Board was formed on January 1, 1998 with the amalgamation of the Windsor and Essex County Boards of Education. We have schools in nine municipalities: Windsor, LaSalle, Amherstburg, Tecumseh, Lakeshore, Essex, Kingsville, Leamington and Pelee Island. In 2013 the GECDSB operates 75 schools - 58 elementary and 17 secondary plus an adult education program and three Agency schools. We have approximately 34,000 students served by 4,500 employees. The Board's annual operating budget is more than $400 million.
The Director of Education, Ms. Erin Kelly, is supported by a group of 9 Superintendents. There are 10 Trustees which make up the Board of Trustees and they meet in public session once each month during the school year. The Chairperson is Ms. Julia Burgess.

2014. Greater Essex County District School Board. All rights reserved.
451 Park Street West, P.O. Box 210, Windsor, ON N9A 6K1
Tel: 519 255-3200